Mankind: Easy Bad, Hard Good

Image

So much is going on in this world today. But before we get there, let me start by saying Happy New Year!!! I hope and pray that this year is the year that showers you in blessings and love!! Thank you for your gift: sharing your time with me is a gift I don’t take lightly. This  blog is a year long journey in which I pray that you check in often, but most importantly that I do not give up. So one down, three hundred and sixty-four to go…. 🙂

With so much going on it is very easy to miss one’s purpose in this ever changing world. I have gotten lost for the very last time and for that reason alone I offer myself to be used to share my insight, knowledge, and wisdom with the world at large!! GOD help me….lol.

Silence & the art of doing nothing are two ways of life that are overlooked and under appreciated. In silence there is the gift of learning to just be, and in being, one realizes that there is not much to do after-all.

I take note in how quickly the bad and negative things spread and how slowly anything positive makes it mainstream. So for so long I’ve run from my purpose. After all, the world loves bad stuff and I don’t have much of that to offer.

I don’t watch television, I haven’t for years now (except when SYTYCD airs or some other special occasion *most recently to watch the ball drop). It seems that the media (TV, smartphones, etc) are making people dumber and less sensitive to others by the minute. Society is so out of touch with the real reality and those that need help right in our own backyards that it’s not hard to see why the bad stuff is promoted while the good stuff drowns out. We want it that way…

Yet, I often wonder why… Why is it that when it comes to doing good we can find a million and one excuses why we don’t volunteer at the homeless shelter that we drive by daily? Why is it so hard to pull in that driveway at the senior home and spend a day adding joy to another person’s life? Where are all the caution signs yelling “abandon the masses, they are leading you away from the great life you could be living!!” I have learned that giving is living. But once we make up in our mind to do good; maybe, giving our spare change to the guy sitting outside the liquor store, it is our own inner darkness that immediately dismisses the idea; with the excuse that he is only going to get a drink. Really!?! What’s so wrong with a drink?? How many drinks have you bought for someone else? What is so different?

We treat those that have suffered their fair share of hard knocks like they have personally offended and disrupted our way of life, adding to their burdens, instead of aiding them.

We all have become judges. And with the current state of humanity it is apparent that we are not judging accurately, fairly, nor in the same way we would want to be judged ourselves? I suppose if we knew that the man on the stoop was once a renowned pianist who has fallen hard on his luck that would make a difference. Maybe, if we made it to that homeless shelter and saw a college classmate of ours we would realize it could have been us. We are all one step away of life having its way with us. We shouldn’t have to always go through the same things to realize we are all going through the same thing: LIFE.

It is easy to read this and dismiss the idea that small things make the biggest difference. That today’s world makes the good hard and the bad easy. It is fine that you go back to doing you, the best way you know how. After all, it is your life to live! For me, it is good for me to know I shared this thought with the world. The solitary idea of doing good, though it may be hard, can make a big difference!! 

We need more compassion, kindness, empathy, sympathy, and love. More people should be willing to say no I haven’t walked in your shoes but I will tie your laces for you if you need me to. We need more people that are willing to realize that their way is not the only way. As a fellow human being I hurt when you hurt, I cry when you cry, I am you & you are me. We have to keep us in mind, all of us. Because at the end of the day, we are only mankind.

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. 
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. 
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

– Mother Teresa

This entry was posted in Humanity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your insight

