Sharing My Love For Words

dictionary

Tell me who doesn’t love a quick flip through an English dictionary to add to their vocabulary. Ok, I admit, most people likely don’t enjoy the process nearly as much as I do. I am often found at work (my local public library) perusing dictionaries. Most recently two words have tickled my fancy enough to share them.

The first word is snafu. It’s spelling immediately drew me to the word, then it’s meaning and pronunciation forced me to add it to my 2013 new vocabulary list. It is defined as:

sna·fu:  /snaˈfo͞o/ Noun – A confused or chaotic state; a mess. (Synonyms:mess-disorder-chaos-muddle-jumble-mix-up) Adjective – In utter confusion or chaos. (Synonyms: chaotic)

Sample Sentence: As the tragedy of 9/11 unfolded people were snafued and did not know what to do, nothing like it had ever happened before.

Now you can’t tell me that that isn’t a great word! Just think about how many people around you that would have no idea what you meant if you decided to call them snafu. A intelligent way of saying that someone or something is a mess. You’re welcome!!! LoL.

The second word is more serious, and not nearly as much fun as snafu. It is tantamount. Lot’s of t’s and kind of fun to look at, for me at least. Seems like a great Scrabble option. It is defined as:

tan·ta·mount: /ˈtantəˌmount/ Adjective – Equivalent in seriousness to; virtually the same as: “the resignations were tantamount to an admission of guilt”. (Synonyms: equivalent – equal)

Sample sentence: In marriage a man is suppose to be tantamount to his wife, that is the great mystery of becoming One.

Well this blog may not be like the others but hey I’m blogging consistently so yayyy me!!! Hope that your day was blessed and that you have a great weekend!!! Until tomorrow…

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”

– Rudyard Kipling

This entry was posted in Dictionary Words, New Words, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your insight

