Wanna be Hood, thanks “Music”

Today I had an interesting conversation with one of my coworkers. It was about the young people he used to work with all wanting to be “hood”; and, regarding his taste in music as lame. Mind you he graduating with a degree music composition and works at a music school teaching children the joy of music. The video I put in this post has over fourteen million hits and though it was funny at the time that I first saw it (around 5K hits); now I have more concern (especially because Grandma is down, lol). I constantly pray about the future which is directly influenced by the young adults that are being brainwashed by today’s media.

Growing up in Detroit and currently residing in an old money, mostly Jewish, family oriented town; I am shocked that the kids here don’t appreciate everything that they have. It makes me laugh to think of the young people in this area wanting to be hood. I wish I could round them up and drop them off in the parts of Detroit that would beyond scare them straight back to Pleasantville.

picture thanks to rottentomatoes.com

picture thanks to rottentomatoes

Seriously, there should be a reality tv show that takes these kids that want to be “hood” like Lil Wayne, Chris Brown, Rihanna, Future, Nicki Manaj, 2 Chainz, etc and sends them to the slums of the ghettos across the United States. Then records as they try to make it out and back to their comfy homes, fenced in yards, and working families. The people that reside in the ghetto don’t want to be there, so I can’t begin to understand why these children would ever disrespect there parents, partake in dangerous activities, and flat out try to be someone they are not. They don’t see that these celebrities have sold their souls to stay out of the hoods they escaped from. Don’t believe me, look up their before and afters.

But, I get it, they’re “cool” right??? With all there talk of drinking, sex, drugs, money, and all that jazz. Cool right??? NOT AT ALL. They don’t feel responsible for anyone following them and there mess. Even though good leaders take care of their followers. The media is the only reason that garbage (nice word choice) like this is even passing for music these days. I miss the days of Al Green, Minnie Ripperton, Stevie Wonder, KRS-One, Lauryn Hill, etc. When real music was all there was. When music told true stories that were worth dedicating your life to. When love was the undertone of every melody.

Listen, this nonsense has to stop! Our future is wearing tight jeans and think that having their butts hanging out is cool. They are smoking and drinking and wasting their lives because it’s what’s cool, or what appears to be cool. We need to redefine cool and bring back what used to be cool. Where are my 80s babies that came right at the beginning of hip hop. When hip hop told a story that needed to be heard. This generation needs us! Stand and be accountable!!! Teach them to read a book and turn off the TV, and get off the internet!!!

“When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading, just as I did when I was young.”

Maya Angelou

This entry was posted in 2013, Celebrate Life, Conversation, Human, Life, Music, Youth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanna be Hood, thanks “Music”

  1. Geo Sans says:

    couldn’t agree more … thanks for the insightful post

Share your insight

