Leap of Faith: First Dates

6847748-a-computer-mouse-on-a-heart-background-online-dating

I went a date on Super Bowl Sunday. I almost didn’t. Internet dating is not my thing and on a whim one night I decided to peek at the personal ads on Craigslist. I further decided to engage in a stream of emails (over 120) asking a bunch of questions. Partly because I didn’t really feel comfortable exchanging numbers right away. After all there is still lots of stranger danger our there!!! LoL.

When I decided that I’d meet him I knew it would be in a public setting and I really like Buffalo Wild Wings twisted margaritas so I figured it would be a good place to meet up. It was getting closer and closer to 6:30 (kick-off) and no solid plans had been made. Via text we decided to meet up at Buffalo Wild Wings after all. He called to verify and I chickened out.

My reality was that I was about to meet a total stranger and anything could happen. I was scared; that he’d be a weirdo, a stalker, a crazy person or something. Because, honestly, who posts personal ads on Craigslist. Then I thought, well, who responds to personal ads on Craigslist. In a public setting where I’m driving, what could really happen? So after about five minutes I called and told him to be on his way. I said a prayer and told GOD I was taking a leap of faith and to keep me safe.

Before 2008 I would have been more receptive to just taking a chance but a series of bad correspondences with men that turned out to be crazy I am wayyyyy more cautious. But I’m glad I took a chance. My date was a genuinely nice guy and I had a really good time. Things didn’t go exactly as planned but it was still all good!! Sometimes in life you have to jump off a shaky limb. You must take chances and throw caution to the wind (somewhat). We never know what’s waiting around the next corner!!

I’m not sure where things will go, but for the first time in a long time I am more excited not to know. Just taking things as they come and seeing what happens!!

“Here’s something else to think about: calling when you say you’re going to is the very first brick in the house you are building of love and trust. If he can’t lay this one stupid brick down, you ain’t never gonna have a house baby, and it’s cold outside.” 
― Greg BehrendtHe’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

This entry was posted in 2013, Celebrate Life, Dating, faith, GOD, Human, Life, Living, Love, Relationships, Self Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your insight

